Latest News

Squad announced for U18's clash at LP

Mark Pike's men take on Rep of Ireland on Februrary 23

A host of Welsh Premier League players have been selected as part of Mark Pike's Wales Under 18's squad to face the Republic of Ireland in the John Coughlan Memorial Cup at Latham Park on February 23.

Wales will be looking to retain the trophy with Bala holding the first leg two days prior.

Now a regular part of the international calendar, Pike has enlisted the help of former Wales defender Steve Evans, who made seven appearances for Wales between 2006 and 2008, to add experience to his backroom staff and raise the profile of a team growing in stature with each passing year.

With players selected from clubs within the FAW Academy structure, development is very much the name of the game, but success last year in Ireland was testament to how the team has evolved.

Pike said: “The training camps have gone really well. The players that have come in have been magnificent. We've looked at over 150 players and now we're down to the last 18.

"Hopefully they will do well over the two games. “Bringing the trophy home from Ireland last year was a huge success for us.

"But for me personally, it's about the lads enjoying themselves in an environment that enables them to play international football. I'm a proud Welshman, Steve Evans is a proud Welshman, and we want proud players to represent the country.”

Wales U18 squad to face Republic of Ireland at Latham Park on February 23, kick off 2pm.

Iwan Roberts (Carmarthen Town) Oliver Farebrother (Aberystwyth Town) Tyler Aylward (Port Talbot Town) Jordan Pike (Port Talbot Town) Owen Williams (Merthyr Town) Daniel Roberts (Rhyl) Daniel Slawson (The New Saints) Zebb Edwards (Airbus UK Broughton) Jack Rimmer Aberystwyth Town Fc Michael George (Barry Town United) Aron Hughes-Jones (The New Saints) Daniel Williams (Pontardawe Town) Sam Haddon (Gap Connahs Quay) Andrew Vale (The New Saints) Harri Horwood (Aberystwyth Town) Jack Todd (Afan Lido) Cameron Keetch (Cambrian & Clydach Vale) Sam Ashworth (The New Saints)